[Linux Logo]About Linux

Linux is a free Unix-type operating system originally created by Linus Torvalds with the assistance of developers around the world. Linux is an independent POSIX implementation and includes true multitasking, virtual memory, shared libraries, demand loading, proper memory management, TCP/IP networking, and other features consistent with Unix-type systems. Developed under the GNU General Public License, the source code for Linux is freely available to everyone.

I have been running various versions of Linux from June 1995. Currently, I am running Linux-Mandrake 5.2 on my PC which has a AMD K-5/100 Mhz based motherboard and 32 Meg of RAM. I use X-ISP to dial in to my ISP and run Netscape, and use the StarOffice 5.1 suite from Star Division GmbH (now owned by Sun) for any word-processing or spread-sheet kind of work.

Note on North American DST Patch:
This is how I patched my linux boxes (various versions):
1. Download tzcode2007d.tar.gz and tzdata2007d.tar.gz into a temporary directory
2. gzip -dc tzcode*.tar.gz | tar -xf -
3. gzip -dc tzdata*.tar.gz | tar -xf -
4. zic -d ./zoneinfo northamerica
5. cp -p zoneinfo/EST5EDT /usr/share/zoneinfo/EST5EDT
6. cp -p zoneinfo/America/New_York /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/New_York
7 . mv /etc/localtime /etc/localtime.bak
8 . ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/EST5EDT /etc/localtime
9 . zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2007
This should produce:
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

More information on Linux may be found at:


JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic (License)
www.000webhost.com